Inspiration: Or the Lack There Of

Standard

Do you ever just look at the stuff you make and think… ‘It kinda looks like a fourth grader did it’? I feel that way a lot., especially after I have checked out craft fairs or on-line craft sites. How do you beat these feelings? People order, people compliment but I don’t think I’ve found my niche. I see stuff that people swarm to and wonder if I will ever get to that point. If I will ever be the cool kid at the party.

Here are some things that have been helping to inspire me in my recent inspirational void:

This quote:

“Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over it became a butterfly” ~ Anonymous

I also search out http://www.funkyfinds.com

Then there is this http://inspireco.blogspot.com/2010/11/inspired-ideas-christmas-issue.html (Which I found THROUGH Funky Finds)

Of course there is Claudine Hellmuth whose art showed me a whole new world. You can visit her here http://www.collageartist.com/

I also like to call on my friends and family and make them tell my how wonderful I am!

What are your inspirations when you are feeling down?

I guess for now I will just keep creating because it makes me happy. I will hold on to the hope that, as I create, I will grow and transform. I will probably find my voice.

Hope y’all have a great day!

 

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Get it together girl! Craft is art….don’t compare your self to others just use those sites as inspiration 🙂 Just go to Joanns and set a limit and just start grabbing things off the shelf, that always gets me going 🙂 Good luck!

  2. I do that on a daily basis! Look at everyone else’s work and say .. how am I supposed to compete with that!!? But the truth is, when it’s homemade there is no competition. There’s always going to be someone who loves your stuff and wishes they could do it too.

Leave a Reply

