My Top Five Favorite Mixed-Media Artists

Standard

When I am in need of inspiration… which happens A LOT… there are certain artists that I turn to to get the spark going. Here are five of them that work with mixed media. Watch for other lists such as ‘Favorite Photographers’, ‘Favorite Craft Books’, ‘Favorite Etsy Sites’ and ‘Favorite DIY Websites’ to come on future Fridays… Look at that I just planned out my next Month of Fridays.

Here is today’s list… Drum roll please…

My Top Five Favorite Mixed-Media Artists

1) Claudine Hellmuth

I absolutely love her stuff. It’s so simple and yet, ingenious. I first came across her when I found a book called “Collage Discovery Workshop”. It was so inspiring and fun I had to check out the author. I was smitten to say the least. Here’s one of the reasons why:

 

2) Kathy Cano-Murrillo aka ‘The Crafty Chica’

Her work is so much fun. I lived in Tucson for three years and maybe it brings back fond memories of that. I don’t know… She does a little bit of everything and this stuff rally speaks to me. Here’s one item I really love:

 

3) Katie Kendrick

I wish i could explain WHY I like her stuff so much… I’m just drawn to it. It doesn’t hurt that I recently saw a REALLY cool tutorial on how to make a collage background that she made on her blog.

 

4) Michael de Meng

Michael de Meng’s art is soooo… cool. He’s an assemblage artist. His pieces are dark and beautiful. To be quite honest it sort of takes me back to high school and college when I was listening to Ministry and Skinny Puppy.  You can view his website HERE. He has a section called Haberdashery which is amazing.

 

5) Sarah Fishburn

The work of Sarah Fishburn is bright, busy and appealing. I think each piece tells its own story and that story changes for each viewer. I would love to have her aesthetic. I also like her sense of humor. You will have to check out her website (just click on Sarah’s photo). You can find her blog HERE.

 

Here’s hoping you’ve found something new here that has gotten those creative juices flowing. Who do you turn to for inspiration? Who are your favorite Mixed-Media artists?

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

